1953 London to Christchurch Air Race

DCA established a press and radio Information Centre in the basement of its HQ at Henty House, Melbourne, for the 1953 London-Christchurch Air Race.
In the Information Centre were tally boards showing the progress of the competitors in the Speed and Handicap Sections.

In the end there were only eight starters in the race. This photo shows the Speed Section tally board at the conclusion of the race. The five entries in this section were all English Electric Canberras, three reconnaisance versions entered by the RAF and two bomber versions entered by the RAAF. The Canberra PR.3 WE139 (RAFAIR MMLY) was the outright winner with a time of 23 hrs 51 mins 7.2 sec. RAAF Canberra B.20 A84-201 (VMZIPA) came second.


The three entries in the Handicap Section - the DC-6A PH-TGA Dr Ir M H Damme of KLM, RNZAF Handley Page Hastings transport NZ5804 (withdrawn at Colombo, Ceylon) and the BEA Vickers Viscount G-AMAV. The KLM aircraft won the Handicap Section with a time of 37 hrs 30 min. Of interest are the different routes taken by each competitor.

(Photos: CAHS collection)

Click here to see a photo of Viscount G-AMAV at Essendon after the Air Race

Read Fifty Years Ago - 1953

Back to the main Items of General Interest index

If this page appears without a menu bar at top and left, click here